Located in Tufo, in the province of Avellino, 50 km east of Naples, the di Marzo winery is the original estate where the Greco di Tufo was first made.
In 1647, Scipione di Marzo, first known ancestor of the family, left his hometown of San Paolo Belsito near the town of Nola to flee from the plague that was ravaging the region. He took with him some vines of a local white variety called at the time Greco del Vesuvio. Once settled in Tufo, he planted this variety in a region previously planted mostly in red. He became the founder of the wine Greco di Tufo. In 1648 he began the construction of the winery and the fortified house above it known as the palazzo. These two constructions are the architectural heritage of the estate and today still, it is in the winery that the wine is produced, the Greco di Tufo in particular.
Located in the town centre, the winery and the palazzo form an integral part of the original town walls. The seventeenth century palazzo is typical of the architectural style of that period.
The winery consists of a series of caves and tunnels dug by hand in the tuff rock. This gives a stable temperature throughout the year. The winery is structured over many levels with a drop of more than 20 meters allowing the use of gravity when moving the must and the wine. This prevents violent movements of the must in the wine making process.
The winery uses the latest technology and first class consultants: Paolo Caciorgna for the still wines and Maurizio Baldi for the sparkling wine. The wine making process is followed very carefully so that the wine may express all the personality given by the territory.
Thanks to this historical heritage and to vanguard winemaking techniques, the di Marzo winery is the proud witness of a tradition that dates back to the middle ages. The winery is regularly visited by tourists who wish to see a different aspect of the Campania region, or simply to try wines with a taste of terroir.